Aeration stone turned 5 gallons of wort into foam?

I just brewed my Kiwi Express extract kit and when I tried to aerate with my stone it all turned into foam and ended up on my kitchen floor. Did I just lose all my hop oils because clean up sure smelled like I did ?? Is there some trick to using a stone ? I am using an air compressor used for airbrushing models and I have the pressure regulator turned all the way down. Also, I didn’t have any way of keeping the stone on the bottom so I guess it was just floating around on top. I’m a welder/fabricator and have access to a lot of different stainless steel so I was thinking for next time I would tie the stone to a stainless rod and drop it in. However, if the stone is always going to foam the wort up this bad I’ll just stick to shaking the bucket for 10 minutes. I ended up getting too frustrated to mess with it any more and pitched my yeast into the bucket of foam ( hopefully it’s not all foam ). Maybe it’ll make beer. This is my 3rd brew and, so far, something always goes wrong. I’m pretty sure you’re not supposed to spend 2 hours brewing and 3 hours cleaning up the mess.

First, a disclaimer, I have absolutely NO experience aerating wort.

I do however, know Airbrushing and Aquariums.

Your air compressor was WAY too much for the job at hand. The word overkill does not do it justice!
Your average aquarium air compressor is only pushing around 5 p.s.i max, at something like 0.30 CFM.
Even if your reg goes down to 5 p.s.i., your compressor is still moving 10-15 CFM of air.

So, my advice to you is, if you still have a lot in the fermentor, let it go, and see what happens, you might like the taste! If not, then brew up another batch, go to your local pet store and pick up a $3.99 compressor and aerate with that. You will have to increase you r aeration time with it, but it shouldn’t cause a foam out.