A I Over Pitching?

Making a Double IPA today OG: 1.084.

I made a 2L starter of from slurry of US-05. Into the flask I pitched two mason jars of harvested yeast. Each jar was about 1/6 of the way full of yeast.

I used the pItching rate calc on MrMalty and it says that I need 181 ml of yeast. But that seems way low to me.

Am I about to pitch way too much yeast?

On an unrelated note… I made the starter on Friday night, let it sit on a stir plate for 24 hours and then popped it in the fridge. Typically, by now all of my yeast will have floculated to the bottom and the separation between beer and yeast will be very clear. But in this starter, it’s still very cloudy and the beer is still bubbling like crazy. I’m guessing this is a symptom of the amount of yeast that went into it?

I’m no starter expert. Only made a handful myself but that sounds like a lot. My recent starter from harvested yeast I used roughly 4 tablespoons in a 1L that I stepped up to 2L. I got that scientific measure of yeast from Nighthawk in the thread below:

viewtopic.php?f=26&t=116364

Chris, the info you give is incomplete. Mason jar: what size? 1/2 pint, pint, quart, 1/2 gallon?

Assuming using quart jars, 1/6th is ~5.3 oz (32/6=5.33)

181ml is ~ 6.1oz http://www.onlineconversion.com/volume.htm

Mr Malty’s yeast requirement is based on the age of the yeast. When was the yeast harvested?

Using the “re-pitch from slurry” tab, my understanding it that is a direct pitch calculator. No starter is needed. In this scenario, I would have pitch 1 jar and called it good. If the yeast was 3-4 weeks old.

Things to consider.

WYeast/White Labs state that there is approximately 100B cells in there products.

Using Mr Malty, we can gauge how much yeast is in a slurry. From that, you can approximate how much slurry to use in a starter to replace 1 or 2 packs of yeast.

But, according to Woodlandbrew

, Mr Malty’s (and yeastcalc) viability calculator is overly conservative.