1st Time Brewer

Hi All,

I am new to home brewing and just brewed my first batch on Sunday. I got the essential starter kit from NB with the Irish Red Ale extract kit. I read a lot on NBs website watched videos and was on youtube a lot before I brewed and had a pretty good idea of what was going on.

I used an 8 gallon aluminum brew pot that I got from my dad at his restaurant,( i know a lot of people say us SS, but this was what i had at the time) seemed to work fine and I boiled about 4 gallons in it before to get a good “clean.” The whole brew process went fine and followed all the directions. Did a partial boil but with such a big pot I might try a full boil next batch.

When it came to pitching the yeast I had the wort cooled down to about 68 degrees. I used the dry yeast that came with the kit, Danstart Nottingham Ale Yeast. After aerating the wort I pitched the yeast by just sprinking it on top… So i feel like I did everything right. I had the fermentor sit in my spare bedroom which is always a little cooler than the rest of my apartment, which I keep between 68-70 in the New England Winters. So room temp in spare bedroom is usually 65. The fermenting seemed to take off on Monday morning up until Tuesday night. Then I noticed it might have been a little warm in the room for the yeast… Seems like the bubbles in airlock stopped. I know that this is not the number one way to go by to tell how fermenting is going but there was a good a mount of krausen on top. I now have a fan that I can control temp in a corner of my room and have it set for 66… (this a good temp?)

So, Should that be good for the next week while I let it sit for the next week or so?
I also do not have a hydrometer and might buy one to take some FG readings to see if it changes at all towards the end of next week.