Starter with Wyeast 2565 not very active

This is my first time trying the Kolsch yeast #2565, I made a starter (approx 1.2 liter). And pitched at about 69 deg and put on my stir plate yesterday around noon. So this AM I went down the basement to check it and it did not look like it generated any significant Krausen, just looked like a lot of yeast in suspension / spinning around. So this AM I took it off the stir plate, gave it a little swirl and saw that it foamed up quite a bit. So now I am just going to let it sit in my makeshift cooler at about 67 deg and see what happens. Maybe it is just not that active of a yeast.
Hopefully I have some good cells in there.

Swirl your flask as often as possible to aerate the wort for propagation of the new yeast cells.

Thanks Flars, when I give it a swirl it reallly foams up nicely. I will give it another day of swirling then chill it until Sunday. Seems like I must have some good cells in there. I was a little concerned as it was shipped in the warm weather but I went 2nd day air with 2 ice packs. It was still Luke warm when it arrived though.

1 Like

I have a hard time wanting to buy yeast when its warm… Sneezles61

Same thing here it arives warm luck on the island. Do use bit more dme and let it stand on stirplate for 32 hours. Seems to work. Mayby using yeast nutrient helps as well. On brew day. Take it out. 8 hours before brewing let it warm up. And swirl it. Every 40 min

Thanks! Looks like it did ok in the starter. I keep swirling it and the starter should be way more than I need for a Kolsch which is pretty light. I have been only doing this for about a year and a half, and I get concerned when the starter is not so active looking. But I tend to use different yeast on every batch so I may not be able to compare one to another.

Make some notes. On how long on stirplate. If it did create. Krausen. What kind of yeast. How fresh and how much dme. And how it did behave in your brew

1 Like