Recipes for one gallon brews?

I recently purchased a one gallon kit from NB and have a couple batches under my belt. I have only used the extract ingredient kits purchased from NB but I am looking to purchase ingredients from a local shop instead of having to go through the web every time. Problem here is that most home brew shops I have been to only have 5 gallon kits. Are there any good sources out there for one gallon recipes where I can then go out and buy the ingredients individually?

Divide the ingredients by 5. :slight_smile:

Purchase a nice scale that measures in oz and grams. Should be able to get a nice one in the $30-$50 range.

You are basically doing what I did when I started brewing at the beginning of the year. Like Nighthawk said, just scale down the recipes to one gallon and get a scale that is pretty accurate. I got my scale that measures “1.000” in grams and ounces from NB for $10. Granted that was in store so I don’t know if it will be on the site.

Now here comes the tricky part. A lot of recipes, especially the “pro series”, use many different grains so for one gallon recipes you will have loads of different grains by the time you buy all the different grains needed for one of those recipes. What I did was study different styles of beers and just made basic beers till I got comfortable and expanded my brewing horizons by trying different things. All of the beer ingredient kits listed on the NB website have their ingredients posted so it is a good place to start.

Your best friend is going to be brewing recipe programs like beersmith and brewpal, if you have a smart phone. You can plug in any recipe, scale it down, and it will tell you how much you need for ingredients.