Priming Sugar Calculator Question

I’m new to home brewing and will be bottling my second ever batch this evening and had a question about the priming sugar calculator on NB’s site [http://www.northernbrewer.com/priming-sugar-calculator]. It asks for the type of beer, temperature, and volume of beer in gallons. I’m brewing a 5 gallon batch of Sierra Madre (NB’s extract kit). I’ve seen that it’s recommended to add the priming sugar mixture first, then siphon the beer in to the bottling bucket to ensure the mix is better. What I’m struggling with though is this: I have 5 gallons of beer in my fermenter, but that includes the trub in the bottom, which obviously won’t be making it’s way in to the bottling bucket. Am I better off siphoning the beer in to the bottling bucket to get a true measure of the volume of beer, then calculating the priming sugar amount based on that and adding it to the beer already in the bottling bucket? I’m trying to avoid over carbonation. The first batch I made was slightly over-carbed. I used the NB calculator for that batch too, but added the dissolved priming sugar before syphoning beer in to the bottling bucket. Thanks so much in advance for any guidance anyone may have.

Don’t siphon the turb. Siphon the beer into your bottle bucket and leave the beer alone that’s on top the turb. Then calculate your priming sugar at the amount of beer you have in the bucket. Not the batch size you brewed

1 Like

Thanks. I knew not to siphon the trub, I was just confused about if it was ok to add the sugar once the beer was already in the bottling bucket because I’ve read that doing it that way can result in uneven carbonation among different bottles in the batch. Sounds like I don’t need to be worried about that as long as I stir well?