Oh What to Do - 1 gal or 2.5 gal batches

Hey all,

I’ve been brewing now for about 2 years and pretty much have dialed in my system and procedures for 5 gal. extract recipes but my recent ones are not to my liking. I like to try different styles and ingredient combinations but the problem is I get stuck with beer that’s not my favorite to drink. So I’m thinking of going 1 gal or 2.5 gal batches on new styles, etc and if I like it, will then move to a 5 gal batch.

Now for my questions;

Can you really make a good beer with only 1 gal and get a feel for what it will be at a larger volume (5 gal and up)? Ingredient volumes are so small plus how do you calculate yeast? Is there a formula or recommended grams or oz. of dried or liquid yeast for such a small batch? Do most just scale down their recipes or its more complicated than that? I also plan on using the small batches to begin my transition to all grain. The rationale is that if I screw up, I won’t wast as much.

With that said, maybe 2.5 gal batches would be easier since its half of my usual 5 gal.

Any help, thoughts, experience, recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and Brew on!

Good for you, man. I myself currently brew 1.7-gallon batches most of the time (that’s a 1/3 size batch compared to 5 gallons). And yes, that’s all-grain – it’s so easy to brew small batches, I love it! This gives me a little more than a 12-pack per batch, but not like 2 whole cases of bad beer if it gets screwed up, so the occasional dumper is not so emotionally exhausting! Plus I have way more variety in my cellar. Right now I have 12 different homebrew batches on hand – sure, I only have 6 or 8 bottles of each usually, and only 2 or 3 bottles left of a couple batches at any given time, but that’s okay by me. When I run out, I’ll just brew more! I find the brewing to be as much fun as the drinking anyway!