New to the craft, need some insight

Good morning everybody,

I am new to the craft and am excited to learn from everybody on here. Please forgive me if i ask remedial questions, but having read different posts it seems like everyone is willing to help and that is appreciated! I have been reading and researching on this forum trying to get a feel for the processes and methods leading up to my first brew and everyone is very helpful and informative! I just popped the top of my first beer last evening (great feeling!) , and i feel something is off. i will try to keep this as short as possible, but also give a detailed account of my process.

I purchased back around Christmas a deluxe starter kit (5 gallon plastic fermentor 5, gallon plastic bottling bucket and all associated pieces for a started kit) and my brew day was 12/29/17. The kit came with the Block Party Amber Ale. I feel brew day went very well, I followed istructions and monitored temps very closely during steeping of grains and boil and made sure that nothing went over temp. After the boil was done i cooled the wort to 100 degrees F as the instructions say (I do not have an immulsion chiller yet) in my sink. Since during the boil obviously I lost some water due to boiling so I added water as stated in the kit to get my back to 5 gallons of wort.

I then monitored and pitched my yeast at exactly 78 degrees. Then sealed my fermentor. When I pitched the yeast i just poured on top of the wort and did not rock back and forth to try an mix in

I then brought my fermentor to my dark basement to ferment for 2 weeks. My basement stays at a constant 65 degrees, and for the first few days I had active fermentation bubbling into the air lock. One thing that i need to purchase is a hydrometer. I did not have one for my first brew.