How much beer do you drink?

I know this might be a rather personal question for some people but just curious. Ever since I started brewing I’ve been drinking more (shocking I know). Having tasty beer in my fridge reduces my will :slight_smile: I usually have just one a day sometimes two but i certainly drink way more than I used to before I started brewing which would be like grab a 6 on the weekend, drink 3 on a Saturday night and 3 on Sunday afternoon.

Just curious if homebrewing has changed any of your consumption habits.

1 Like

Most days I’ll have a couple of beers when I get home from work. I tend to brew in the 4-5% ABV range so I still have my wits about me after a couple. Sometimes I’ll start a third but rarely finish it.

when i was only homebrewing I drank at least 1 beer a night. I was also in school at that time. Now that I brew for work, I drink far less. Now I’ll occasionally have a beer during the week, but typically drink more on the weekends, maybe a couple/few a night, friday and saturday depending on what I’m doing.

I drink 1-3 pints 3-4 days a week. Usually none on the weekends and never any beer prior to 7pm.

For me it varies. I certainly don’t consume nearly as much beer as I used to, despite the fact that I’m brewing more often these days. That contradiction is primarily because in addition to the standard bitter and other ‘session’ type beers, I like to make sure that I always have some well aged specialty beers in the cellar–especially Strong Old Burton Ale, IPA, my annual Xmas Ale, and old school (robust) Porter.

Anyway…on average, over the course of 7 days, I probably drink well less than 64 ounces total. And when I decide to have one of the strong beers which I so enjoy, it’s always a single 8 or 10 ounce pour…slowly sipped.

I used to drink a LOT. But even a modest amount for me now seems like quite a bit compared to most of the other posts here.