Help with the White House Honey Porter

Hello friends,

my wife and I started brewing last year and have done about 5 all extracts at this point. We have elected the White House Honey Porter for our Fall Beer. I saw a lot of people on the reviews for that kit that said they added more honey , like up to another pound! My wife and I loves honey ales and I was wondering if we decided to add more honey to the brew what should we be cognizant of in the brew. Do you guys suggest we do the original recipe first? Is there enough of a honey taste without adding? I assume the sugar content of the honey would increase the PG. Any suggestions friends?

best,
John

IMO a pound of honey for 5 gallons is nothing. I forget what that recipe calls for but to preserve the honey flavor you should add it as late as possible. If you boil honey you might as well be just adding sugar instead. The flavors and aromas are delicate and easily destroyed. All the best flavors and aromas are volatile at about 180F. So do some research on minimal pasteurization temperatures and times and go for as low as you can safely achieve these. Many mead makers just add the honey to the fermenter directly.

Also take the time to get some honey with distinction. I would aim for orange blossom or citrus because it is very common. The stuff labeled just honey is most likely a blend of whatever and has already been pasteurized and has less flavor and aroma. As a rule of thumb, just like beer, the darker the honey the more flavor it has.

You can just add it to the fermenter.
Mix it with some warm water and put it into the fermenter when it is high-krausen.
Make sure you give the fermenter a good swirl, when you’re done adding it.
No fuss, no muss.

1 Like

If you want honey flavor steep some honey malt. It’s very powerful stuff so I would start with about 1/2lb. It’s not exactly honey flavor but provides a sweetness very similar.

2 Likes