1st Time Batch Sparging. Questions on BeerSmith 2.2

O.K. so I have been brewing for a couple of years and graduated to all grain (BIAB) about a year ago and decided to take it to the next level and try batch sparging. I made a mash tun and ordered an all grain version of the JP Elevenses Ale. I’m hoping it will turn out as awesome as the partial mash kit I brewed. So I purchased the latest copy of BeerSmith and am slightly confused by some of the formulas. Below is a copy of the Elevenses recipe as I have entered it into BS. If my gravity is good I can possibly do a 5.5 gal batch but maybe not…we’ll see. Some of the grains didn’t appear in BS exactly as they did in the Elevenses recipe. Also for the batch sparg I assume the 3.74 168° water is first and the 2.09 is second? That can’t possibly be enough water? Also I thought the original temp was supposed to be 154° for 60 mins and then 170° for 10. Beersmith doesn’t seem correct at all

How does my recipe look?

I have batch sparged 492 batches and my advice is to ignore what Beersmith tells you for water amounts. Mash with whatever amount of water you like. I usually go around 1.65 qt./lb. After you runoff your mash, measure how much wort you have in the kettle. Subtract that from the amount you want to boil. The answer you get is how much sparge water to use. Yes, it really is that simple!

1 Like

I am a long time user of BeerSmith and have learned to trust my experience over what BeerSmith says. It is a great program, but will take you awhile to get it to work with your methods. I would go with Denny on this.
For the record, I miss ProMash, it was so much easier to dial in with my methods.
Thanks
Ed

I’m still using it.

:grinning:

OK so let me try to figure this out: