Yeast Starter

Hey everyone

Im still new at this and I’m planning on brewing up my second batch soon and I wanted to get your opinion on yeast starters. Is this something you recommend doing for every batch you brew? I read that it is ok not to do it with certain beers but others told me to do it all the time. I brewed a Hefeweizen without a yeast starter but that was my first brew and didn’t know exactly what to do.

Also, if you recommend using a yeast starter all the time should I just buy a yeast starter kit off of midwest supplies or any other site?

Thanks for the help

With liquid yeast it’s generally a good idea. I use a glass 1-gallon jug and sanitized aluminum foil for the top, and it seems to work fine. A stir plate is nice, but not absolutely necessary.

Personally, I only do them on beers over 1.060 or lagers. There are many other ways to improve beers before doing starters. The one I see most ofter overlooked by new brewers is temp control.

I mostly use liquid yeast and when I do I always make a starter 1/3 larger than what I need for the batch I’m about to brew. On brew day I decant 1/3 of the starter into a sterilized 8 oz Mason jar and refrigerate it for use on a future batch (where I again make a starter.) I used to harvest yeast from finished fermentations, but this way is so much cleaner and easier…

Dang! Missed my Dos Equis opportunity… :smiley: When I do brew starters I do the above as well.