Yeast starter vs no starter

I have been brewing for 8 years and have always used a yeast starter. I was curious this week that I would try an experiment on making a lager with no starter and a lager with the appropriate sized starter. I am assuming that the no starter will potentially have a longer lag time and more diacetyl, esters, etc.

The experiment is by no means scientific (different recipes but close S.G.) but was wondering if anyone else has tried doing something similar. I remember reading something in BYO (i think) years ago about getting the beer off of the trub, secondary fermentations, but never anything like this.

Any other thoughts or concerns?

Well, certainly with a lager, if you’re not doing a starter you’re going to see a longer lag time and probably a less vigorous fermentation. More likely to get some off flavors from the “stressed” yeast. I’m curious to hear your results. I (almost) always make a starter, and I make a big one for lagers. Either that or try to pitch dregs. However, recently I just pitched two packs of dry (34/70) into 5 gallons and it worked great. I’ve used the dregs to make 2 subsequent lagers too.

^^^^
Having this happen twice you never want to use stressed yeast. You will get some off flavors.

Seems like a lot of work to experiment with something where you pretty much already know what will happen. Not saying don’t try it out if you still want to, but it’s pretty common knowledge from what I have found all over that underpitching is bad and will cause stressed yeast or stuck/failed fermentations. If you’ve seen the calculators, they all have different calculations for lagers due to the need for more yeast in these beers too, so it’s even more important with a lager.

With an ale, I’d say you have a little more freedom to possibly underpitch and test your findings. With a lager, I’d say the underpitch has bigger consequences.

Just my thoughts!