Yeast Starter Issues

I’m new to using yeast starters and ran into an issue today. I searched here for more info but that has led me to more questions about what I should do. Hopefully I can be steered in the right direction.

I have used yeast starter for my last 3 batches following the directions that came with the NB kit which makes a 1 pint starter using wyeast smack pack and .5 cup dme. There have been no problems and I definately saw faster and more vigorous yeast activity in my last 3 batches.

Last night I made the same starter in preparation to brew NBs Dead Ringer IPA, 1.064 OG, 5 gal batch. As I was getting ready to brew this morning I found out that the package of caramel malt grain was missing from the kit. I called NB and the rep was very nice and said he would send out a new bag of grains but will take 3 days to arrive. I’ll also be out of town for a few days so I won’t be ready to brew for about a week from today. The NB rep said no problem, just put your starter in the fridge until ready then wake it up with a little warm water when ready to pitch.

That sounded OK until I started searching here for more info/options. Do I chill the starter now (10 hours into fermentation) or wait until fermentation is complete then chill until ready? When is fermentation complete, a few days? After starter fermentation is complete then chilled do I pour out the wort and just pitch the slurry in the bottom? Do I need to warm up the slurry? Is this called ‘cold crashing’ the starter that I read about?

Another thing I found when searching this forum is the Mr malty calculator, according to it I need 222 billion cells in a 2.5 liter starter for this batch. The starter kit procedure makes about .7 liter. To make 2.5 liter, first I would need a bigger container since the kit came with a 1 liter flask. To make 2.5 liter do I just add about 2 cups dme to the water with 1 wyest pack?

Thanks for any help you can give me.

[quote=“jdon88”]