Yeast starter gravity

I use YeastCalc to figure a starter for what I will be brewing. For the starter gravity I have to plug that info in. It seems I can make the starter wort any gravity I want. How do you figure what your starter wort gravity should be? Is there a certain gravity number I should shoot for? I am new to using this calculator, please forgive me if that capability is built into the calculator, I haven’t found it if it is.
Thanks
Brad

The starter gravity calc is to help figure out amount of water and DME. The main starter calc assumes a starter gravity between 1.030 and 1.040. This is the range that you should shoot for. I tend to aim for 1.040 but add a little more water than it says.

Thank you very very much! The YeastCalc has made making starters a lot easier. But I was never sure what to use for the gravity. Now I have a range to shoot for. I made my last starter using a procedure from a brewer on this forum, where you decant off the top liquid after having it in the refrigerator for a few days. I thought it went really well until I trashed my beer during the boil. I am planning on doing Denny’s Waldo Lake next. Now I will start to plan the starter. Thanks again. :smiley:

Thank you very very much! The YeastCalc has made making starters a lot easier. But I was never sure what to use for the gravity. Now I have a range to shoot for. I made my last starter using a procedure from a brewer on this forum, where you decant off the top liquid after having it in the refrigerator for a few days. I thought it went really well until I trashed my beer during the boil. I am planning on doing Denny’s Waldo Lake next. Now I will start to plan the starter. Thanks again. :smiley: [/quote]
The Waldo Lake is a really awesome brew. Soooooooooo tasty! Try and hold on to it as long as you can because the last bottle you’re going to say, “I wish I had let them all age this long.”