Yeast Options

Stupid question here: what are the differences in the yeast options for the various extract kits? I’m a novice so I have no idea which ones to choose.

Thanks!

There is dry yeast and liquid yeast. Dry yeast has much more viable cells per pack and is kind of a less fuss option. Just rehydrate (or not) and pitch. BUT dry yeast strains are much more limited. Over the last few years there have been more dry yeast strains made available, but the overall choices in dry yeast strains is much less than liquid. Dry yeast is cheaper.

Liquid yeast is a little more expensive and contains less cells than a pack of dry yeast. You generally need to make a starter (if pitching anything over 1.050 or so) with liquid. BUT the major plus with liquid is the numerous different strains to choose from.

http://www.wyeastlab.com/hb_yeaststrain.cfm

I prefer liquid because I like the idea of using the right yeast for the job. IMO, yeast strain choice and how you handle it (cell count, fermentation temps, etc) is the biggest factor in getting a beer to taste the way you want.

Thanks so much for the information.

Another stupid question: what is a “starter” and how is it prepared?

Read how to brew, look for yeast starter, great step by step

Bottom line: yeast starters are used to increase cell count. They are not necessary to make beer, but having the right amount of healthy yeast will usually improve the overall quality of your beer. You don’t generally need a starter for low gravity beers when pitching a very fresh (i.e., packaged a week or two ago) package of yeast.

Here is a good overview video featuring a microbiologist from White Labs: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1zUYxb- … e=youtu.be

There are plenty of online calculators you can use to figure out what size starter you need. A lot of people like this one: http://www.mrmalty.com/calc/calc.html. Personally I use the starter calculator in my brewing software (Beersmith 2).