Xmas beer

So I’m still new to the brew scene and I’m thinking it’s time to brew a Christmas beer. Now I already have a Honey Porter kit I was just going to doctor up. What would be a good route to go with? I wanted a gingerbread Porter, what can I add in the boil to achieve that? Pardon the dumb questions

Replace the honey with molasses then add some spice. Ginger nutmeg cinnamon touch of clove

I still do 1 gal batches so it’s hard to measure it out. I’ve seen 12oz of molasses in 5 gal. So divide by 5? Also would you throw this in end of boil?

2 Likes

Yes, divide by 5. And be easy with the spices- a little goes along way.

3 Likes

I’m doing a gingerbread porter on Saturday. I’ll let you guys know how it goes.

1 Like

I second that.

Quick question on molasses. The head brewer at my local brewery suggested being sparse with it, as if you use too much it’ll dominate the beer’s taste. For a 5 gallon batch, I’m thinking of going with about .25 pounds. Is that enough?

I’ve seen 12oz In a few 5 gal recipes but yeah I heard it can bring some odd flavors. I’m going to try brown sugar

Nope. 12 oz is fine if you’re worried use light molasses. I use dark in my porters and I think it comes out good. Brown sugar is fine but you have to add alot to get any flavor and you’ll dry the beer out which is not how I like Porter. If I was going to use brown sugar I’d also add raisons

Great, I’ll use the 12 oz bottle I got then. I think I’ll pass on the brown sugar though, I’m with you on not liking a dry porter.

My spices are going to be mostly ginger, and then some cinnamon, clove and a spot of nutmeg

1 Like

Brown sugar works very well for a new castle style brown ale… Sneezles61

I brewed my 1 gallon. Went with 2.5oz of blackstrap molasses, a cinnamon stick and a couple of slices of fresh ginger in the last ten mins of the boil. It smelled pretty good during racking. I hope it comes out well I can’t wait