Would secondary hurt anything if not needed?

I am about ready to brew my next batch (2nd), an irish red ale that i substituted the muntons light extract (which was expired) for the mallard malts gold extract, just waiting on my big mouth bubbler to come in.

Question is, would it hurt anything if I do a secondary fermentation on it if the recipe directions dont call for it?? and would I need to add more yeast? Im still a newb at this, so tryin to do what I can to get it as clear looking and tasting as possible without too much extra trub in the bottles. Im also a bit impatient to try the caribou slobber thats also coming with the bubbler. Want my main fermenter free for it.

As long as you don’t go to secondary too early, you should be fine. There’s a small risk of infection or oxidation, so sanitize everything, and rack carefully. No need to add yeast. I’d say wait until at least two weeks in primary, and rack away. Three weeks is better. A week after gravity readings are stabilized is best.

I did my Oktoberfest ale at 2 weeks (4 days no bubbling at all). first actual brew, came out pretty good. I dont think I oxgenated it enough when I first put it in the fermenter, but didnt taste anything weird or funny. Ill be usin my auto siphon to rack it to a secondary (my now old original fermenting bucket). Was already planning on first ferment at 2 weeks, second another week or 2.

Oxygen PRE fermentation= good

Oxygen POST fermentation= bad

It would be absolutely fine, as long as you’re careful not to splash it around and introduce unwanted O2.
And, personal pet peeve, as long as you don’t call it a secondary fermentation. Properly done, it should be racked for ‘cold conditioning’, or ‘settling’, or ‘bright tank’, or ‘lagering’ well after all fermentation is completely finished.
And as Uber said, there will be plenty of yeast in suspension, unless you forget about it and leave it for 6 months or more.