Would it be ok to add strawberries to my secondary?

Brewing up a 5 gallon extract Golden US wheat brew using some Cascade and Centennial hops. I picked around 10 pounds of fresh Alabama strawberries a couple weeks ago and froze them. After primary fermentation completes and I rack to my secondary would it be ok to add around 5 pounds of thawed strawberries to my secondary ? Also would i need to add any additional priming sugar to the secondary ? How would the Cascade and Centennial hops complement the strawberry flavors ?

• I apologize for so many questions im new to homebrewing and it’s the greatest thing since sliced bread in my opinion ! and so is this forum

I don’t think that strawberry goes with grapefruit, at least not for my palate. But if you add the strawberries, all the sugar will ferment out, and you will still need to add priming sugar once the yeast is done with the berries.

I agree with Shadetree. Not so sure the strawberries would pair well with this recipe for my tastes either.

If you go for it, I recommend smashing them up a bit and putting them in a paint strainer bag (not necessarily in that order).

It’s totally up to you. I may taste great, it may taste horrible.
However, 5 pounds seems like an extreme amount.

Be aware that strawberries don’t tend to do well when paired with yeast. The flavor changes noticably, and you won’t get that “fresh” strawberry flavor. As for quantity, 5 lbs for 5 gallons doesn’t sound like enough for strawberries, unless you want the flavor to be very suble. You might do better using the full 10 lbs.

Since you are newer to this hobby and embarking on a somewhat unconventional beer I would recommend splitting the batch if at all possible to do some side by side analysis. Maybe if it is even just bottling a gallon so you know what it was like before hand. This way you know for sure what it tasted like before and after the addition.