Wort Cooling Questions

Hi all

I’m new to this forum and to home brewing. I am hopin that I will be brewing my first batch on Tuesday of Caribou Slobber. My question is since I do not have a wort chiller has anyone used a cooling paddle. I work in the food service industry and we use it to rapidly cool soups out of the danger zone. I would post a pic but i can’t figure out how to do that lol. Basically it is a hollow plastic containor that you fill with water and freeze. Then you are able to put into your soup/wort and stir to cool it down. Also anyone have any tips or advice for me on brewing my first batch. I have already read how to brew and feel confident in my self.

Thanks in advance

How many gallons is your boil?

My concern is that the wand thingy that your talking about might not have enough cool to counteract the heat.

Also you may have to consider sanitizing it beforehand.

Probably sticking with the tried and true ice bath will be the most effective.

I plan on sticking to the recipe since this is my first time brewing. It is goin to be a partial boil of 2.5 gallons. If any one has any tips or advice for me it is greatly appreciated.

Sticking to the recipe is a good way to start.

If your cooling stick can handle rapid chilling of 2.5 gallons of soup, it should be fine for wort. By “danger zone” you mean <80F, yes? Just be aware that you should get the wort below 70 (and preferably into the low 60s) before pitching you yeast.

When using an immersion chiller, most people let it sit in the boiling wort for 10-15 minutes to let that sanitize the surface. Your chilling stick will by it’s nature not allow the same effect to occur, as it will keep the surface cool as it chills the wort. So yes, you will need to sanitize it first.

One tip: pre-chill your mix water beforehand. Adding refrigerated water to the wort at the end will bring the temperature down pretty well.