Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Worst beer day ever for me!

Just wanted to share what an awful day I had today. Set out to brew the AG St. Paul Porter with my new mash tun. Even though my fittings were water tight when I tested it with cold water, when I put in my strike water, the O-rings were leaking! Fiddled with it for a couple hours - transferring water back and forth, reheating water, retransfering, etc.- until I finally gave up! I decided that instead, since I was pressed for time at that point, I would just bottle my American Wheat. Man, I wish I woulda just called it a day instead! I broke one bottle while sanitizing (had never broken one since I started brewing). I ran outta my Star San mixture in the middle of sanitizing so I had to make more (not a big deal, just inconvenient). And somehow, even though it’s sat upright in a box in the same spot forever, Both caps on the Star San bottle were busted up. Finally get everything ready to transfer and start my autosiphon, but I had to run upstairs to get a spoon. When I came back down there was beer running everywhere becuase I left the dang spigot open (I know, duh!) So I lost at least a half dozen bottles to the basement floor, and who knows how much of my priming sugar. Still ended up with five gallons in my bottling bucket though, so I kept puching through. My next issue was with the caps; as i’m placing them over my just-filled bottles, I start noticing that some of them have rust spot all over them. WTF? I had to throw out at least a dozen caps! And finally, when I was crimping my caps, I clean-cut straight through an anchor steam bottles! I crimped, heard the crumch of glass, and removed my capper to find the cap and top of the bottle still in it! Anyways… I just had to vent. My first time brewing - back when I didn’t have any idea what I was doing - wasn’t this rough!

That sucks, sounds like a rough day.