Worried about Last Batch

Hello All,

I brewed my 3rd batch last Saturday and am a little worried about it and thought I would ask the experts, you guys.

I brewed my own experimental version of an Espresso Vanilla Brown Porter and pitched it with White Labs WLP007, which I have used before and really liked.

I pitched the Yeast at 65F and tucked it away under my stairs where its a constant temp of about 60F.
When i checked it on Monday I noticed very little action both on the bubbler and on the amount of krause. I gave it another 24hrs and and noticed a little more action in the bubble but the krause was only about 1/8th of an inch.

By last night all activity seems to have stopped and the krause has all but dissipated from the surface of the beer.

I am using a 6 gallon glass carboy so i am not having to open a bucket lid to see what the activity looks like.

I am fairly new to brewing on my own, so any thoughts on what may be happening and what i may be able to do to fix this is appreciated.

Thanks,

Kyle

You probably didn’t make a starter for the yeast, did you? You really need to proof the yeast prior to pitching. Take a gravity reading.

I will take a gravity reading once i get home.
I did a reading before i pitched the yeast and it was at 1.040

As far as the starter goes, I proof it since i had such good luck on my first 2 batches when pitching.

Is the yeast all dead?
Do I need to pitch a new batch of yeast?

What should i look for when taking the new gravity reading?

Look for something like 1.012 or thereabouts. If it is higher, then pitch a packet of US-05 dry ale yeast. That will do the trick.

Just a question, but why pitch the US-05 dry ale yeast instead of going with another WLP007?

[quote=“B3wild3r”]Just a question, but why pitch the US-05 dry ale yeast instead of going with another WLP007?[/quote]Just easier and cheaper. You can use either but to make another starter will take a couple more days and lots of effort.