Wine Kits and Big Reds

Greetings all,

My wife and I have been making wine kits for a few years now. We enjoy many varieties, but our favorite wine to drink is rich, full reds. Cab sav’s, malbecs, etc. To date, I’ve found the wine from kits to be bland compared to store-bought. I’ve done a number of things to try and make better wine from kits with some success, but still have not achieved a full, rich red:

• Age it. This does indeed help and make it better, but does not seem to take it to the level of store-bought wine.
  • Fermentation temperature. Some kits that fermented too warm did have off flavors, and correcting this did help.
  • try kits with skins. We did manage to get one kit that had a pack of skins and although this one was a while ago, I remember we liked it more than the others.

Still, with all this, the homemade wine just does not taste the same. To me, it’s not as good. It has led me to a theory that perhaps the issue is that reds are usually made by doing the primary fermentation on the skins to get all the flavors and colors going, then pressing them.

One other thing to note is that we also have made a white kit or two, which came out wonderfully. Much like what you’d expect to find commercially. The issue here is solely with red.

I am planning a spot in my garden to grow some vines so we can make wine that way. I may also try to source whole grapes to get the process to match.

All that said, I wonder what others think on the matter. Am I on the right track? I know when it comes to beer, my all grain batches are hands down better than anything you can get in the local mega mart. I know I should be able to make wine at home that is great too.

Thanks for any thoughts in advance, and have a very happy thanksgiving everyone!