Why do my IPAs disappoint?

I’ve been brewing all grain for about five years now. I have a very full life so don’t brew more than six to eight 5-gallon batches a year. I am generally happy with everything I brew except my IPAs. I just can’t get the hop bite in the flavor and aroma that is present in my favorite commercial IPAs.

The recipes I’ve used include Denny’s Rye IPA and several from BYO’s clone recipe edition, including Bell’s Two-Hearted, Lagunitas IPA and Sierra Nevada Celebration. The last one I did was a Celebration clone that Denny posted here. I adjust my tap water for mashing using EZ Water to acheive the ratio that EZ water says is appropriate for IPAs. And, I dry hop whenever the recipe calls for it.

Sometimes my IPAs have a decent hop flavor and aroma for a several weeks after bottling but it doesn’t last longer than that. I do keep beer around for a long time, I usually don’t drink more than 5-6 beers in an average week and I always have several styles on hand.

Could it be that the hop flavor and aroma are just dissipating over time, or are there some keys to brewing a good IPA that I am ignorant of? Hoping for some useful advice as American IPA is my favorite style and I would like to brew one that doesn’t dissapoint.

do you keep all your IPA’s in the fridge after their carbed?

Do you have enough sulfate in your water? This will help with hop bite.

Also, I’ve made two batches in the last couple of months and I used 10oz of hops in each 5gal batch. 2oz@60, 2oz@15, 2oz@5, 2oz@FO and 2oz dry hop. Its a lot of hops but it gets the job done. Maybe the hops we’re using are a little less fresh than what was used in the recipes.

Double the weight of your very late additions (including the dryhop) and dryhop for the week just prior to bottling at 68F and you’ll see a marked improvement in hop character.