Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

White Labs English Ale Yeast WLP002

Advise please!

I have never used While labs strains before. I have always used Wyeast. However, I am attempting to recreate Magic Hat #9 and this White Labs product was suggested to me.

I have made a starter and even before pitching I could not get this particular WLP0002 to separate. Cottage cheese like at best, a charachter of yeast I have never seen before. I do know this particular strain is highly flocculent, and highly attenuative but would that lead to the characteristics I am seeing? (First Question)

Oh well, I pitched my yeast into a 1L starter this past Wednesday, put it on my stirr plate and let it go. The yeast it self never did come out of its cottage cheese like state and while it does look like it may have turned over a couple of times, I am hesitant to ruin a 5 hour brew day and pitch some shitty yeast.

Now my dilema continues, I planned on brewing yesterday and well we all know how plans change! Now its SuperBowl sunday and between the kids and the game - doesn’t look like I will be getting anywhere close to the brew kettles until next weekend at best. Can I refrigerate what I have and use it next weekend or will I have to start over and make a new starter? (Second Question)

Finally, will I have to do anything further to bring my yeast back in order to ferment my HG wart with maximum efficiency when I finally get the chance to brew next weekend?(Third Question)

Thanks brew crew! I value your expertise and experience!