White IPA?

So theres the Cascadian Dark Ale/ Black IPA … and they ROCK !!

I have a Wheaten Beatdown fermenting right now and was thinking ,hmmmmm What about crafting up a good White IPA ?? Is this reinventing the wheel ? I mean i know they have this kit, and then I witnessed a bitter Wit style from some commercial craft brewer at whole foods last night. My wife and I looked at each other like dag on it day late dollar short on this “new style” we had been thinking up.

Dont get me wrong, I know its all about having fun making what you desire and learning along the way. Also that your prob not going to do anything that has not been done before!! Im only starting out in the HB scene myself but ive been a craft beer follower since 2000… i turn 30 in a couple weeks, so a bit before i was allowed leagally to drink i was already into good stuff as my step dad brewed… and never seen much/any of this “style” until its just now. Its just starting to poke its head out.

The Black IPA is a “new” style so what about a White one ??? Could we, as a whole, craft an amazing new style that may take roots in the US scene ?? Or am i being a noob/redundant fool ??

Discuss …

I’ve just started seeing Shock-Top Wheat IPA at my local stores. So if that’s what you’re going after that might be something to try. I’m not a wheat fan so I’ve not tried it.

Sam Adam’s has a beer called “Whitewater IPA” which is a white IPA. It’s okay, not my favorite by any means. I do like black IPA a lot, dark beer + hops = win. I’m not a huge fan of wheat beers in general anyway, so it makes sense that I don’t care for it as much. But FFF’s Gumballhead is delicious, it’s supposedly a wheat IPA, not quite the same as a white IPA, perhaps, but same principle.

CDA is a fad that can’t go away too soon, AFAIAC.

I enjoy a white beer in its place, say a hot day or pairing with food. Not always was I a fan… I used to think they tasted like dish soap.