Which oxygen system

Looking to move past my aquarium pump setup and into an oxygen system. I like the idea of more oxygen in the wort and less time to get it there. I have little knowledge of the types of systems but after listening to Brewstrong I believe that there are 2. Metered and unmetered.

Metered being more of the hospital provided type with controlled flow rates and unmetered being more of the “turn it on or turn it off” type I may be totally wrong, which is why I am asking the forum.

Is one better that the other? What type do you guys use/prefer? Does it make a notable difference in the finished product?

Get this one.

How long do you let that run when you are aerating?

That’s what I use. I do two minutes on high and get a real good vortex goin. I’ve only had one fermentation with a lag longer than 24hrs since I started doing this and even then I think the temp is what slowed it down.

With this system you will still only reach around 8ppm of oxygen in the wort, and I think it would take 3 - 5 minutes to get there.

In order to get your dissolved oxygen levels above 8ppm you would need a pure O2 system.

The cost of an umetered oxygen regulator plus stone is reasonable (~$50). I think it is a better value and more predictable then messing around with the mix stir. I have a mix stir used it for about two years and recently switched to oxygen and think it is a better solution. The mix stir is OK in a carboy, but in a bucket it can get messy. Plus, I use my drill to mill grains and am always concerned that grain dust is going to drift from my drill into the fermenter as I stand over it.

I run it for several minutes moving the drill up and down. Works pretty good.

works good by what though?

A stainless steel whip stir is I think around 20 bucks so half the price of a oxygen setup
I would just go with the cheap 50 buck turn off and on one.
Unless you go the money to blow and like high tech stuff.

[/quote]