When does home brewing become 'cost-efficient?"

So, I’m a noob, who got a 1 gallon homebrew kit for Xmas. I got 6 bottles out of my first kit, White House Honey Porter (I broke my first bottle when capping it!) and 8 bottles out of my second, Sierra Madre Pale Ale.

I then upgraded to a 5 gallon operation, but only got a 4 gallon yield on my first brew… I know, I’m a noob.

My question is when does it become cost-efficient to become a home brewer? Will I spend less per bottle when I start all-grain brewing? I realize that I may never get my costs down to that of Budweiser, but will I ever be able to brew a decent homebrew for less than an equivalent 6 or 12-pack will cost me in the store?

If not, oh well… I’ll keep brewing! :wink:

Definitely AG, buying grain in bulk, hops by the pound, re-using yeast, and comparing to craft/imported beer, not BMC.

Re-using yeast?!?!?! Oh, I have so much to learn! I can’t wait!

I’ve been buying grain by the sack and hops by the pound lately. My last four batches have been <$5.00 per 6 pack for all consumable costs, including the ancillary things like C02, propane, sanitizer, etc. Not too bad.

Given the investment I’ve made in durable equipment (stainless kettle, pump, plate chiller, stainless fittings, freezer for hops, freezer for kegerator conversion, 6 faucets, 10 kegs, etc.), I doubt I’ll ever break even. But that’s a risk I’m willing to take. This is a hobby. For me, this is mainly about enjoying the process.

My spring/summer/fall hobby is saltwater fishing. Surfcasting, boat, shellfishing etc. If I were to factor in my boat, high end rods/reels, and lures I’d find that I could have went to the fish market hundreds of times… I always say, “You can’t put a price tag on a good time!” FWIW