Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

What's the truth on pitching rates?

People of Earth: It’s been awhile since I posted here but I have a question for you all. I have been brewing for 15 years now and have tweaked a number of my processes and brewing strategies in the areas of water composition, mash, sparge and kettle pH control, etc. One area I continue to get some static about (from fellow brewers) is my pitch rate. I use a lot of Wyeast and White Labs yeast. If I have a very fresh Wyeast activator (ale), I’ll smack it and pitch it directly into well-oxygenated wort that is maybe around 1.050. I will keep that primary cool (low to mid 60s) and get good activity and eventually good beer. I will reuse that yeast a couple times and pitch more on subsequent batches (200-300 milliliters is common). If I make a lager or I’m using White Labs, I typically make a starter with 650ml of water and ½ cup of DME which many, many people have told me is a very small starter. I will use some Wyeast nutrient in the boil of the starter and then chill it, add a little pure O2 with a stone (a number of people have said this is pointless but I feel some oxygen can’t be bad for something that’s been bottled up for awhile!), add the yeast and then get it on the stirplate. I usually get activity within about 24 hours and pitch the entire contents of the starter. I get quick-starting primary fermentations with no off-flavors. I make relatively small and balanced beers including light styles like pils, helles, blonde ales, American wheats, etc. and I think flaws would show if I was underpitching. I had a vial of WLP011 with a BEST date of April 2014. I made a starter as described above and someone said, “That starter is less than half of what you need to do” (I was making a 1.052 Altbier with it). That starter got active and foamy in 24 hours and I brewed with it right away, pitching the whole thing into well-oxygenated wort. I have never stepped up a starter. Ever. I generally make