What to do after racking?

I started my first batch of mead this year using honey from my first beehive. It’s all very fun and exciting. However, I think I have missed an important step in the research I’ve been doing. After I siphon my mead from one carboy to another, I lose what seems to me a good amount of mead due to the sediment in the bottom. What started out as 5 gallons is no longer. I read a brief snippit on one site that said to top off the carboy with distilled water after racking. Is this what I should have been doing to keep up the volume? If so, can I do that now. Is it too late to top it off now?

Thank you,
Sherri

I’m new to brewing myself, but for the couple I’ve done, I’ve justified that losing some ml of alcohol is negligible at the price/liter point in making them, and if you check the volume lost with the must/wort/whatever, I’m quite sure it’s less than 1L out of 18L, unless you are leaving a more than ample amount of liquid with your sediments.

Can you quantify “good amount”?

I made a mead for a coworker. He gave me some very dark honey. It settled out and became very clear/golden. But, I did loose ~1/2 gallon of mead to keep from picking up the dark stuff again.

I’ve made meads with clear/golden honey. Only loosing 1 pint to 1 quart. Same as a beer.

I have not added water to the mead.

[quote=“sherrhod”]I started my first batch of mead this year using honey from my first beehive. It’s all very fun and exciting. However, I think I have missed an important step in the research I’ve been doing. After I siphon my mead from one carboy to another, I lose what seems to me a good amount of mead due to the sediment in the bottom. What started out as 5 gallons is no longer. I read a brief snippit on one site that said to top off the carboy with distilled water after racking. Is this what I should have been doing to keep up the volume? If so, can I do that now. Is it too late to top it off now?

Thank you,
Sherri[/quote]