What are the raw ingredients needed for home brewing Light B

I am new to home brewing. Just started my first batch today using a beer kit.
The taste I’m going for (And I know its blasphemy) is Miller Light, Coors, bud light etc…
But at nearly $30.00 for a kit = 2 cases of beer. its almost not worth it. What are the raw ingredients I would need and what would the proper preparation of these ingredients be? Also where could I find these ingredients? I doubt the local grocery store.

For the most part, light lagers are just low-gravity beers that replace a portion of the grain bill with an adjunct like corn or rice. Other than that, they’re brewed the same as any other lager. With this being your first batch, I’m assuming you’re using malt extract, and you won’t be able to brew with adjuncts until you start mashing. I’d also stick with ales unless you’re prepared to invest some serious money right up front. Fermenting a lager requires precise temperature control around 50°F, then 32°F, so it’s difficult to do without a dedicated refrigerator/freezer.

You’re correct that without economy of scale working in your favor, you won’t be able to brew a beer like that more cheaply than you can buy it.

As far as where to buy ingredients, if you live near a big city you almost certainly have at least one homebrew shop nearby. If not, NB sells just about everything online.

[quote=“vgregory22”]I am new to home brewing. Just started my first batch today using a beer kit.
The taste I’m going for (And I know its blasphemy) is Miller Light, Coors, bud light etc…
But at nearly $30.00 for a kit = 2 cases of beer. its almost not worth it. What are the raw ingredients I would need and what would the proper preparation of these ingredients be? Also where could I find these ingredients? I doubt the local grocery store.[/quote]

If that is the taste you want, why are you brewing beer if you can buy it cheaper? Especially if you factor in all the work?