West Coast IPA - Belgian Yeast?

I have been toying with the idea of making a Green Flash West Coast IPA Clone with Belgian Yeast. I guess I don’t know the true definition of a Belgian IPA, and I am new at recipe collaboration.

I basically want to make a Hoppy, Funky, Strong IPA.

The Green Flash Clone recipe is as follows:
All Grain

Estimated OG: 1.072
Estimated FG: 1.016

6 Gallon Recipe

84.2 14.00 lbs. Pale Malt(2-row)
7.9 1.31 lbs. Crystal 40L
7.9 1.31 lbs. Cara-Pils / Dextrine Malt

0.25 oz Columbus (Tomahawk) 60 min
0.25 oz Simcoe 60 min
1.00 oz Simcoe 90 min
0.25 oz Simcoe 30 min
0.25 oz Columbus (Tomahawk) 30 min
0.75 oz Columbus (Tomahawk) 15 min
0.75 oz Simcoe 15 min
1.00 oz Cascade 10 min
0.50 oz Columbus (Tomahawk)
0.50 oz Simcoe
0.50 oz Columbus (Tomahawk) 7 days
0.50 oz Simcoe 7 days
0.50 oz Centennial 7 days
0.50 oz Amarillo Gold 7 days

60 Minute Infusion at 152 degrees F
60 Minute Boil.

My questions is, What would you do? Is it simple enough to just use WP 3724 or WP1388? Would you substitute the 2-row with Belgian Pale Ale? Would they play nicely with the hops? The hop schedule is ridiculous on this one, I may simplify it a bit.

TIA!

I might drop the 30 minute additions (add them later in the boil), move the 90 to 60, and maybe add some FWH, but this should be a great beer.

Personally, I would use the strong ale yeast, as opposed to the saison, but I think either would be good. You could always split the batch and try both. I am guessing Green Flash’s Le Freak is probably pretty close to this (their standard IPA but with belgian yeast).

You will need a decent-sized starter, and I would start the ferment around 65, ramping up to the low 70’s. These two steps are key in making any Belgian-inspired ale. If you’ve ever had La Chouffe’s Houblon, it was really one of the first well-made Belgian/trappist-inspired beers that had a big hop profile.

Now I want to make one! Let us know how this turns out…

I like the sound of this!

Thanks.