Water treatment guide for brewing with RO?

I’ve been brewing all grain for a couple years now and recently moved into a new house with well water. My wife and I have just invested in an RO filtration system so I want to start building my water profiles for each brew.

I downloaded Bru’n Water and I get the gist of it, but it seems like overkill. I’m not shooting for exact measurements here. Has anyone found any sort of water treatment guide that gives ballpark guidelines per style for RO water treatment? One guy on a different forum said he uses RO water and adds just 1 tsp of gypsum for IPAs and it works great for that style. That’s the kind of simplicity I’m looking for in a guide. I’m not looking to add a lot of time to my brew day right now by measuring to the hundredth of a gram for 5 different brewing salts. I’m just shooting for ballpark. But I can’t find anything in my Google searches. Anyone found any simple guides they can recommend?

Thanks

-BrewBum

Try Brewer’s Friend or EZ water. I’ve used all 3 and clearly Bru’n water is the most in depth/difficult to use but also clear is that most dedicated all grain brewers eventually gravitate to it. All 3 have strengths and weaknesses. The 2 mentioned may be closer to the simplicity you are looking for.

Then why not just do what that guy does? Just add gypsum and hold your breath.

Yes you probably detect the slightest bit of sarcasm in that. Pic a program. Doesn’t have to be Brunwater, which I do use.

However, unless you get a water analysis done it doesn’t matter what program you use or what you add, you’ll just be shooting in the dark.

It may work OK for one style depending on your water but there’s not point in doing anything unless you know what your basis is and what you’re attempting to adjust.

Just my .02…

If you’re rocking a real RO system, you’ll need more than gypsum. I’ll second EZ water, that’s what I use, because I’m lazy. Bru’nwater is where most folks end up, but I need baby steps.