Magnesium 21
Total hardness caco3 373
Nitrate. 2
Sulfate. 71
Chloride. 93
Carbonate <1
Bicarbonate. 280
Total alkalinity caco3. 230

So I was messing around on bru’n water and for a simple DIPA grain bill I can added 1lb of acid malt (7%) to reach 5.4 ph in the mash and 5.9ml latic acid to the sparge water to get to 6.0 ph. Is that to much latic acid. Will the flavor come through?

Any help is appreciated. I’m still trying to figure all this out and want to know if this water is worth it or if I should get RO or distilled water

I’m not a water expert but man that is some hard water. Never use distilled water cutting it with RO water is the best way to go.
Using too much lactic acid will give you some off flavors that you will not like. I’ll step aside and let one of the other guys help you.
I also do not treat my sparge water any more since the mash is say 5.2 and it should stay there.

That is highly mineralized water and could be problematic for brewing many styles. The main problem is the alkalinity and you noted that you are adding 7% acid malt. That would almost certainly be notable in the flavor. A better alternative is to dilute that tap water substantially (say 1 to 1) with RO or distilled water. That will bring all ions down to reasonable levels and give you room to adjust those ion totals. If dilution is not feasible for you, moving to neutralizing the bicarbonate with phosphoric acid would present less off-flavor in the finished beer than using acid malt or lactic acid.

Thanks for the help guys. I figured I would have to cut the water but wanted to check what you guys think is the best way to go.

If i dilute the tap water 50/50 I can drop the acid malt to 3.5% to get to 5.4 mash ph. Will that be low enough to not effect the flavor of the beer?

[quote=“gdtechvw”]

If i dilute the tap water 50/50 I can drop the acid malt to 3.5% to get to 5.4 mash ph. Will that be low enough to not effect the flavor of the beer?[/quote]