Volume from Mash to Boil Question - Additional Question

I am new to AG brewing after 6 extract and 2 partial mash and I have a question about volume size from mash to the boil. The beer i brewed had a 12 lb grain bill. i had just about 3.75 gal of water in the mash tun + 1.5 gal for Mash out + about 6 gal of sparge water. The end result was about 8 gallons into my boil, for what was supposed to be a 5 gallon batch. after boil i was at about 7.5 gallons and couldnt get all of the liquid into my fermenter. I cant help but think i am missing a step or had something wrong in my process. any insight would be appreciated.

Cut back on your sparge water. You want to pick a water/grist ratio that works for you. Many use 1.25 - 1.5qt/lb. I prefer a little thinner mash at 1.5 - 2.0qt/lb. Figure out how much you’ll get from your first runnings and then get the balance you need from you sparge runnings. If you only boiled off 1/2gal in an hour (seems low), you want to start with 1/2 gal more wort than what you want for your post boil volume to be.

Example (rough numbers to illustrate):

5.5 gal post boil desired.
1/2 gal/hr boil off.
Need 6 gal from combined runnings.

Mash yields 3.75gal.
Sparge with 2.25gal to equal 6 gallons combined.

I’ll add I try to shoot for close to equal runnings or at least within about 1 gallon of each other at the advice of Denny. So with the numbers I posted above, I’d probably cut back on the initial mash water to get closer to 3 gallons from the first runnings and closer to 3 gallons from the sparge. This doesn’t need to be exactly 50/50. I’m usually more like 60% volume from my mash and 40% from the sparge.

You’ll need to work backwards…

You now have a general idea that you’ll boil off half a gallon, so shoot for 5.5 or 6 gallons in your kettle.

Conventional wisdom aims for equal runnings, so plan on half of that (3 gallons) to come out of sparge. Mash with what’s left, and add some for grain absorption.