Vienna Lager - Recipe/Water Help

Hi All,

Since moving towards doing lagers this winter because my basement is ideal temp, I’ve really been focusing on my water, mash PH and making sure everything lines up for the style. I’ve started to work on a Vienna Lager recipe keeping all of this in mind and would like some feedback on my water and recipe, any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Below is what I’m planning, let me know what you think. I’m new at using Bru’n Water and working from distilled water as a base, so I might be way off on this! I was trying to hit the vienna boiled targets but shoot for a calcium over 50ppm to aid in yeast health.

Batch Size: 5.25 Galons
OG: 1.051
FG: 1.013
SRM 13.2
IBU 23
ABV 5%
Boil Length: 90mn
Mash: 154

Grain Bill
4lbs Vienna Malt (4L)
4lbs Munich Light (6L)
1.75lbs Pilsner (1L)
.25lbs Carapils (1L)
.1875lbs Melandoin (25L)
.1875lbs Carafa II (425L)

Hop Schedule
1oz Hallertauer Tradition 4.5%AA (60mn)
1oz Hallertauer Tradition 4.5%AA (15mn)
1oz Hallertauer Tradition 4.5%AA (0mn)

Yeast
Wyeast 2124

Mash:
3.5 gallons 90mn rest at 154 degrees (Mash PH of ~5.4?)

Sparge
5.5 gallons 10mn rest at 170 degrees

Base Water
100% Distilled Water

Mash Water additives:
1g Gypsum
1g Epsom Salt
1g Baking Soda
.5g Calcium Chloride
1g Chalk
1ml Lactic Acid 88%

Sparge Water additives:
1.5g Gypsum
1.5g Epsom Salt
1g Calcium Chloride

Finished Water Profile?
53 ppm Calcium
7 ppm Magnesium
18 ppm Sodium
63 ppm Sulfate
19 ppm Chloride
83 ppm Bicarbonate

Target Vienna Boiled Water Profile
27 ppm Calcium
15 ppm Magnesium
10 ppm Sodium
60 ppm Sulfate
15 ppm Chloride
80 ppm Bicarbonate

Thoughts?? :cheers: