Velvet Rooster

I am a novice home brewer. I am considering brewing the Tallgrass Velvet Rooster Extract Kit. Is this a difficult kit to brew? Are there any special techniques I should know? Would I need any special equipment?
Thank you for your input.

[quote=“mmmmstout”]I am a novice home brewer. I am considering brewing the Tallgrass Velvet Rooster Extract Kit. Is this a difficult kit to brew? Are there any special techniques I should know? Would I need any special equipment?
Thank you for your input.[/quote]

Not the best beer for a novice, due to having to make a yeast starter because of the high alcohol content if you stick with their recommended yeast . The high alcohol content makes your choice of yeast with no special equipment a bit touchy, but it can be done with no special equipment with the right yeast. Safbrew S-33 dry yeast is tailor made for it. If you’re still interested in brewing it, let me know. You are just going to need patience, because this particular beer will not be ready to drink in less than two months…

P.S.

You can definitely brew this beer with no special equipment if you are willing to give it the time it needs. The higher the alcohol content of the beer, the longer it takes as a general rule… Now I’m tempted to brew one of these and leave it in the closet for a year. It sounds like an awesome recipe!

:cheers:

That kit looks delicious.
A couple of things I’d notice for a first time brewer, Kits usually include packs of hop pellets in 1 oz sizes. NONE of the additions in the recipe are even multiples on 1 oz, so you’ll have to have a scale to weigh out each addition before you add. (Personally, I’d just eyeball it, but admitting such may be flame bait. :slight_smile: )

You can avoid doing a starter if you buy a second pack of yeast. Just pitch them both. But that’s adding another $6.25 to an already expensive kit.