Using acid malt

Wanting to brew a witbier and the recipe calls for 8 oz of acid malt in a 5 gallon batch. Does acid malt affect the water profile of the beer? Was planning on using the yellow balanced setting in Beersmith and I’ve never used acid malt before.

It won’t change your water profile but it will drop your pH. Without knowing your water profile and adjusting accordingly I would omit it as it is only contributing a drop in pH for the recipe. It provides no flavor contribution.

1 Like

Well, I just use distilled water and build up from there. Is the acid malt necessary for a better mash though? The grist is basically 50/50 pale malt/ flaked wheat. I just don’t understand if should consider a different water profile with the expected tartness from using the acid malt.

You can use the same water profile you intended. You’ll just need to account for the additional pH drop. For every 1% of acid malt in the grist the pH will drop 0.1.
You won’t get additional tartness unless you adjust your water for the correct pH and then use the malt.

I think I understand what you’re saying. So if you saw that a recipe had acid malt in it, would you use it or would you make ph adjustments with salts?

I use RO water so I’ve never used acid malt. I would only use it if I had good water that fell into my desired range and would only need to adjust with lactic acid. So if you are using distilled there is no reason to use it other to save liquid acid additions. If you already bought it though you might as well use it up

I haven’t bought it yet so I will just skip that malt. Thank you!

1 Like

Good choice. Stick to what you’re comfortable with.

If you’re starting with distilled water it’s highly unlikely you’ll need that much acid malt in a five gallon batch. That’s a lot. I think I use half pound in 11 gallon batches of pilsner with 7.2 ph water as the starting point.

2 Likes