Unidentifiable off-flavor

So I have an off flavor in every one of my IPA’s that I can’t seem to identify. I’m not very good at describing flavors but none of the common off-flavors seem to fit. It seems to be a characteristic of the bitterness but that could just be my mind attempting to correlate it to something. The weird thing is, its in all of my IPA’s and ONLY my IPA’s. The only common ingredient among them are water.

One thing I notice is it does seem to diminish over time (aging) and tends to be less apparent when the beer is warmed up a bit.

Is there any way to identify and eliminate this flavor?

Impossible to help unless I were to actually taste your beer (yes I am BJCP Certified, #A0511). As a much cheaper alternative to shipping beer, go to your local homebrew club, hopefully find some local BJCP judges, and get them to tell you what’s up.

I’d be willing to ship some out for tasting in hopes to nail this down. If you want to PM me your mailing address I can ship one out to you.

I would second this. IIRC there are a lot of great clubs in C-town.

Youre in for a treat Dave, he’s a good brewer. :cheers:

I believe it! I’ll have to send you boys some of mine sometime. Right now I have gruit, RIS, smoked apple ale, cider, um… well those are the good ones. Plus I have very high hopes for my altbier still in primary.

:cheers:

Well these other guy know a lot more than me but I have noticed something similar in some of my beers. When I first start pulling from a keg I kind of get a little funny bitterness. The thing is once the keg starts pouring crystal clear it’s gone. I always figured it was some stuff still in suspension. Also when I pour it in a glass and as it warms it settles and I don’t taste it. When my keg is freshly tapped I fill some liter flip tops and bring them around for sampling again it tastes fine I believe again from settling to the bottom of the bottle. Could it be from unfiltered hop material that needs to settle out?