Troubleshooting Advice?: Kegging, Mash Efficiency, Flavor

Hi all,

I’ve been brewing for a few years (~15 extract beers, recently moved to all-grain) and have been having the following problems with my brews over the past 4 or 5 batches (maybe longer but I can’t recall):

1. When I put on a new keg in my kegerator, there’s always a lot of wasted beer and time getting it to dispense with minimal foam and proper carbonation.
    Sometimes, there’s an initial huge blast of foam in each pour, but the beer itself is not well-carbonated. So I pour off the foam for a while, and then try to force-carbonate the keg by rolling it while attached to the gas line. This often causes beer to back up a bit into the gas line, so I empty the gas lines separately, and repeat all this fuss until the foam and carbonation finally work themselves out (usually 1/3 of the way through the keg or so).

I have installed a fan-based cooling hose to push cool air to the dispensing tower as well, and the kegerator is otherwise well-insulated and runs at ~39 degrees. Each beer gets at least 2 weeks in the primary and two in the secondary before kegging. When I keg the beer itself from the secondary fermenter, I added 1/3 cup priming sugar well-boiled in fresh water, as advised by several resources I’ve consulted.

What can I change so I don’t have to go through this extended process for each keg, and avoid wasting so much beer to overfoaming?

2) The mash efficiency from my all-grain process is consistently lower than the target O.G. in the recipe
I’ve used all-grain recipes from Northern Brewer, MoreBeer, and other sources. For ex, I brewed an IPA with a target O.G. of 1.072-1.076, but my actual O.G. turned out to be 1.063. Then I brewed a Belgian with a target O.G. of 1.068-1.073, but my actual O.G. turned out to be 1.054.

I use this grain mill:

http://www.homebrewing.org/Cereal-Kille ... _2310.html