Trouble with my mash temp

I am using my mash tun and it is having trouble keeping temp. I did a strike of 162 degrees and I was shooting for 148 degrees on a 90 min mash but it only wants to stay around 140 degrees. I keep adding 170 degree water but it really won’t warm up. Do I do my best to keep it warm as possible and just mash for 2 hours or is this mash a wash and I won’t get the conversion?

UPDATE:

I Since I basically doubled the water amount of the mash I drained some out, heated it up, and put it back in the mash and now I am getting temp. This leads me to this question: What are the implications of a mash with double the recommended water amount? I used my sparge water so in the end I will end up with my projected amount of water and I am letting it mash for two hours.

You could have added boiling water instead of 170 F water to bring up temperature. As long as the combined temperature does not exceed 170 F, you won’t kill the enzymes. Also in the future, if you know you need a little higher temperature to get to the temperature you want, use hotter strike water, e.g., strike with 170 F water instead of 162 F.

The extra volume won’t hurt a thing, the starches will still convert to sugars just fine, etc. However, if you are skipping the sparge because of it then your efficiency will suffer quite a bit, so your original gravity will end up kind of low. You can fix this either by sparging and boiling for an extra long time, or boiling down to a smaller volume, e.g., if you’d planned on making 5 gallons, boil it down to about 4.5 gallons instead or something like that, if you still want to get a good original gravity. Or just beef it up with a little extract. All good options.

Thanks for the advice.