Trouble with Mash Efficiency

Hi all -

I am relatively new to brewing with only five AG batches under my belt.

I took a crack at a pumpkin brown ale today and I was really disappointed to find out that I only got the mash to convert at ~60%. Regarding the details, I mashed at 149F for 60 minutes and 2.2 qts/lb (not the plan, but after initial infusion at 164F, I had to add more water just to reach 149; adding more hot water would have exceeded the capacity of my tun). I performed a continuous sparge at 165F, collecting about 4.5 gallons of wort (3 gallon batch).

As I am trying to figure out what I did wrong, I remember that the only other time I have had such a poor conversion was also attempting a mash at 149F (that time according to plan).

Do I have to take another step when mashing at the lower ranges to make sure that conversion is in the 75% range? I imagine PH might come up; I do not currently have a good way to measure or correct for PH.

Obviously, this batch is not going to be what I intended, but I am trying to make sure that I can have better control of my mashing in future brews.

Thanks for your suggestions.

The first thing to check is instrument calibration. If your thermometer is reading 5°F high, then you could really have been mashing at 144°F, which is low enough to cause some problems. Given that it’s happened before, that seems likely.

Regarding conversion efficiency, even 75% is pretty bad. I’d say that anything under 90% indicates a problem. Checking pH is definitely a good start. Get some ColorpHast strips - 100 of them cost $20, and you can cut them in half if you’re cheap like me.

No offense, but could you post your measurements so someone else can double-check your calculations? It’s certainly possible you just fat-fingered something.

No offense taken, I am certainly willing to give as much information as possible to help figure this out.

Mashed 8 lbs grain (2-row, 20L, 120L, chocolate, and flaked barley) with 1lb roasted pumpkin.