Trouble brewing with a friend

I started brewing with a friend recently we’ve done a couple batches where we split the cost and a couple where we’ve just watched each others process. We have a few differences in opinions while brewing together. On the most recent batch we brewed on Monday I asked a question about the time frame we wanted to follow. I said I think we should let it sit at least 2 weeks before deciding when to racking and then later dry hop. He replied that he didn’t want to go longer than 1 week before racking because he was worried about dead yeast off flavor (autolysis). We pitched a healthy 2L starter. I know I’ve gone 3 weeks in the primary and I know of plenty of people on the forum who go 4 weeks on the yeast cake with no issues. I would be more worried about pulling it from the yeast cake too soon. How do I politely voice my opinion without sounding like I know everything or sound like a jerk. I certainly don’t think I know everything as I learn something new every time I brew. Should I just let it go and brew on. How do people who brew in groups make sure everyone is on the same page?

This is what I suggest. Compromise you want your way he wants his. So let your gravity be the one to determine the disagreement. In a week take gravity reading and if is not as low as you both would like. Wait two weeks.

1 Like

Just curious, Why would he think autolysis would become an issue in only one week? The most dire fears I’ve read say 3-4 weeks is your worst-case scenario.

If autolysis were that bad, then what you should do is rack the beer every couple of days and pitch a fresh batch of yeast until the beer is at FG. Of course, that would be stupid, which is why no one does that. Basically, it would be impossible to brew without a conical.

Yeah I’m not sure what makes him think that. Maybe someone told him a past brew of his had an autolysis off flavor. I’m not sure.