Transfer from Primary to Secondary

Hello all,

I am a first time brewer and am trying my hand at cider. My primary fermentation appears to be nearing completion, but I have a question about moving on to secondary fermentation. I am using two half-gallon growlers (as this is my first time I didn’t buy all the best equipment although I probably will in the future if this turns out decent) so I don’t have a standard carboy. How should I transfer the cider from first to secondary without remixing all the sediment at the bottom? Do I just pour it off very slowly? Also, will this encounter with oxygen damage the process? If so how should I transfer it without subjecting it to oxygen?

Thank you very much!
-Clayton

I wouldn’t pour it - Do you have any tubing that you can use for a siphon? You can make it work well enough with about 3-4 feet of sanitized tubing, but you may want to practice first as it’s easy to make a mess and lose a lot of cider in the process. Tip your growler slightly and keep the tube a little bit above the lees so you don’t transfer it, and be prepared to leave a little bit in the container.

Try to minimize your headspace in your secondary vessel, so you might need to top up one container with cider from the second growler, and find a smaller bottle or jug to hold the rest of the second growler.

I have been brewing beer since 1990 and just bottled my very first cider on Sunday. I chose not to secondary because it was remarkably clear after 4 weeks, tasted great, and was fermented out. As with my transfers of beer into secondary or my kegs, I always use my auto-siphon and did so to move this cider to a bottling bucket. Its worth the investment. The plastic ones are like 15 buck at NB. Getting a siphon going with tubing alone can be done but it is so much more awkward and unpredictable.

I will definitely be making more cider in the future.