Total noob dummy

hello all!!

I am completely new to the world of home brewing, but am so excited to get started. After begging and begging and begging, my fiancee finally got me one for christmas along with an ingredient kit for a Scottish Ale. So i didnt waste any time getting started. I researched, read all the instructions in the kit and the booklet that came with it as well. I went to unpack the kit and BAM! noticed my hydrometer was broken during shipping. Ok. I see in the brewing instructions that it is highly recommended but not required, so i say what the hay, lets do it (first noob mistake). I follow all the instruction to a T and have a wonderful smelling wort by the time its ready for an ice bath. I put the wort in the ice bath, put my digital thermometer in and wait for it to reach the proper temp…and wait…and wait. after about 45 min my thermometer still reads 109, so i wait about another 15 min. Still reads 109. By this time i am thinking something is up so I wash my hands real well and stick my pinky in to check…its cold as hell (second noob mistake). So I decide to improvise and I know I have to add more water to make it 5 gallons, so I add hot water in the hopes in brings it up to about 70 deg, which was the target temp. I have to estimate because my thermometer is clearly broken, so I think its close and I pitch my yeast. It looked like it was activating to me so I put in my primary fermentor and hope for the best. Lo and behold after 12 hours I get bubbles!! I am happy.