Total newb question

Hi All, just brewed my 1st batch of beer using one of the starter kits. My question is I don’t see much bubbling activity in the airlock. My buddy at work said I should be seeing some activity. I brewed it on Saturday afternoon. Once in the bucket, i followed all the instructions and then added the yeast. I then put t in a cool dark place, down cellar, which is about 55 degrees. Is that too cold? I brought it upstairs after work today, it’s about 62-64 in the house. Is there a way to check it, or should I just leave it be?

Thanks, Chappy

Which recipe/yeast? 55 is pretty cool for most of them.
You likely did the right thing by bringing it upstairs. I usually ferment mine at 60-64 degrees.
Don’t worry until another day or two has passed.

I’m guessing you are using a pail. If you have a long spoon, sanitize it and give it a stir. Or swirl it around.

You won’t hurt the beer by opening the lid.

Sometimes the CO2 will escape from the lid and not activate the air lock. No big deal. That won’t hurt your beer either.

Like mentioned, 55* is a little on the colder side for an ale. It will take off at that temp and make a nice beer. But it will take a little more time than if it was at 60*.

Thanks! I’ll take another look when I get home from work tonight. Then I’ll give it a stir as you suggested.

55 seems a bit cold. my basement is a constant 65 and i think thats cold. make sure to put your beer somewhere a bit warmer than that when conditioning. i had my fist batch conditioning at 65. after 10 days still pretty flat. moved them to a much warmer room. within a day they were 10x more carbed up.

55 seems a bit cold. my basement is a constant 65 and i think thats cold. make sure to put your beer somewhere a bit warmer than that when conditioning. i had my fist batch conditioning at 65. after 10 days still pretty flat. moved them to a much warmer room. within a day they were 10x more carbed up. what are you brewing anyway?