Too Much Pre-Boil Wort?

I’m fairly new to all-grain brewing, and I’m hoping someone can help me out with what I’m missing here… My previous AG beers have been low gravity, and I’ve always just under 7 gallons of wort pre-boil. I fly sparge, and I’ve been using 1.25 qt/lb strike water, about 6 qt of boiling mash out water, and 2 qt/lb sparge water. When I look at bigger beers (let’s say 12.5# grain bill), it seems like I’d have too much pre-boil wort for a 60 minute boil. I’ve always heard that you lose about .12 gal/# of strike water to grain absorption. Using my 12.5# example, you’d have ~11.6 gallons of wort minus 1.5 gallons for grain absoption, for just over 10 gallons of pre-boil wort. Am I missing something here, or is this correct and you just stop collecting wort when you reach your target pre-boil volume? Thanks!

If you are adding 10 gallons of water but not collecting it all that is lost sugar. Like you said, some water is tied up in the grains. This water has roughly the same sugar concentration as what you are collecting, so that’s lost sugar.

This link is a batch sparge example, but the principles are similar for a fly sparge, just a little more complicated to calculate:

http://woodlandbrew.blogspot.com/2012/1 ... sugar.html

You’ll only want to add as much water as you want to collect, plus what is absorbed by the grains. So if you want a pre boil volume of 7 gallons, and your grain absorption is 1 gallon, don’t add more than 8 gallons. Sparge water temperature is not as critical as mash temperature. If you have to make a sacrifice, that’s the place to do it.

You still want to have the right amount of preboil wort so you can hit your post-boil volume with the right length of boil. Which isn’t to say you ouldn’t boil longer if its not a light-colored beer.