Tips for homegrown hop usage?

I just harvested and dried my first hop crop this year and was wondering what tips people have on using homegrown hops. I have heard some people say that bittering additions are more difficult because of the lower AA’s. I have also heard that you should add 10% more hops in your recipes to make up for the decrease potency. Is any of this true? Is there anything else I should account for? I grew brewers gold and cascade this year if anyone has tips on those. Thanks

I’ve read that whole hops should be used 5X pellet hops by weight (ie, 1 oz of pellet is roughly 5 oz of whole). You could brew two identical simple smaller batch recipes, one using pellets of the same variety and one using 5X the whole homegrown hops to compare them and adjust accordingly. I’m a brewing noob tho so I’d be interested in what some of the more experienced brewers have to say. I’m going to try to grow some next year from some rhizomes a friend is going to give me.

The 5x figure is wet hops versus dried not pellet versus whole.

Wet hops weigh 5 times as much as dried hops. This is all water weight. So you need to use one or the other, otherwise you won’t have any idea how much to use.