I’ve never done a pils before…
8# 2row
1# c60
1# Marris otter
4 oz Choco malt
4oz victory

3/4oz centenial @ 60
1 oz cascade @ FO

I was going to use White labs’ San Fran strain.
and lager is in a swamp box at (hopefully) 55 for a month or so.
Thoughts?

Quick update, I was looking at 2 recipes…
There is no chocolate malt and only 1/2 # of c60.

What you have there is more an American Amber Lager. It will be like Sam Adams in the malt category and have citrusy hop profile that is not in line with a pils. Your recipe may make a tasty beer, but it will not taste like a Pilsener. This may also come out more like a steam beer.

For a pils you should use all pils malt. Two row will work as a substitute, but it will not give you the same malt profile. You could also use up to 10% melanoidin malt to get some of that character. In the hop category, you want Czech or German hops. Saaz are traditional. Hallertau, and Tetnang are probably second choices if you want a German character. Many brewers use a neutral bittering hop like Magnum or Perle for bittering and finish with one or a blend of the traditional hops. Shoot for 30-40 IBUs and use the softest water you can. I try to ferment a lager at 48-52. Your temp of 55 will work, but you really need to get it down to below 35 for a few weeks after primary fermentation to get that crisp, lager finish.

If you really want a pilsner, get all the specialty malts and late hops out of there. Otherwise just call it beer because it is not pilsner style.

I guess this is all begging the question: what is the OP looking for? If you’ve ever had a Pilsner Urquell, (a Czech/Bohemian pils), especially on draught, or a Warsteiner (German Pils), also…especially on draught, the clean unobtrusive taste is pretty unmistakable.

As the others have said, all your specialty malts will get in the way of that taste, but that is not to say it won’t be good beer.

In your mind, what exactly are you setting out to make? Please don’t say beer.