Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Thinking of going from 5gal all grain to 1gal

i’m a casual brewer who brews 5gal all grain batches. sometimes i make great beers, sometimes i dump them, but when i do make great ones i get stuck with so many bottles. my friends in the area aren’t big beer drinkers, i enjoy buying commercial beers as much as i like to drink my own… and i just can’t go through a 40 bottle batch. i brew for the fun of it, but mostly to give away and share… but if there’s no one to share with i sit on a couple dozen bottles for months.

i’m considering cutting back to 1 gal. batches that will allow me to brew basically for myself. however, i’m used to all grain brewing, while i’m not a great brewer, i have a few years experience of all grain.

my question is… will i just be disapointed doing stove-top, partial mash brews after the (fun) work of doing bigger all-grain batches?

should i switch to 1 gal? stay at 5 gal?

find new friends?

i want to brew more often, but just can’t if i sit on 20+ bottles per batch…

advice?

thanks!

Really depends on how much beer you want. One gallon batches you will get maybe 8-10 bottles so patience on letting them age and condition is huge.

I brew one gallon batches and do all grain. The concept is the same, just different equipment and approach. You will save money but you will spend almost the same amount of time brewing one gallon compared to five gallon. You will save time on sparging and wort chilling (but not by much), and bottling.

Recipe builds are easy, just scale them accordingly.

I’ve thought about doing smaller batches as well, but I can’t imagine only doing 1 gallon batches. All that work and waiting just for a 8-10 bottles?

I did 3 gallons of Irish Stout in February and that has actually worked out very nicely.

Maybe cut back to 2 gallon batches and, yes, find new friends. :stuck_out_tongue:

yeah, it’s a lot of work for just 8-10 bottles… maybe the idea of going to 2 gal or something…